The data in this blog is for general informational purposes only and information presented was accurate as of the publication date.

June Faculty Achievements

Dr. Thom Warner to Present at ELC

Thomas Werner, PT, MA, PhDDr. Thomas Warner, Campus Director and DPT Program Director in Dallas, was selected to present at the 2019 Educational Leadership Conference. His presentation is titled The Leadership Compass: Navigating the Way within the Academy. Congrats, Thom!



PNASD Keynote Speaker Melanie Logue

​Dr. Melanie Logue, Director of Nursing Operations, was honored as the guest of honor/keynote speaker for the 45th Annual Philippine Nurses Association San Diego chapter on June 2nd.

Contributing Faculty Member Published in Journal of Healthcare Management

An article published in the current edition of the Journal of Healthcare Management by one of our own contributing faculty members, Dr. Brad Beauvais (and a few of his colleagues).

The findings of their research suggest that a focus on patient safety performance is associated improve financial performance at the hospital level.  Their study is one of the first studies that focused on the association between hospital patient safety and financial performance. Brad instructs a section of IPE 7121, Organizational Leadership & Policy in Health Care, and HSA7260, Operations & Quality Management in Health Care.

Brad, congrats to you and your team for the publication!

Crossing For A Cure With Professor Todd Bourgeois

At 12:30AM, on Saturday, June 15, 2019, while most of us are tucked in our beds, Assistant Professor Todd Bourgeois, PT, DPT, PhD will embark on an 83-mile journey from Bimini to Florida. He’ll be making that journey on a paddle board. READ MORE


Faculty Quoted as Expert in Livestrong Article

Dr. Tony Lozano from the Austin campus was quoted as an expert in an article about heavy leg syndrome. Check it out!

Dr. Kunal Bhanot Promoted to Assistant Director of TXAU Flex DPT Program

Kunal Bhanot, PhDAs of June 1, 2019, Kunal Bhanot, officially holds the title of Assistant Director for the TX-AU Flex DPT program. Dr. Bhanot is well deserving of this administrative position and will be a valued asset to the Flex DPT program. Congratulations!




Alumnus and Faculty Published in ASHT Times

Kaylee Cole (recent USA OT graduate-Austin campus) and Dr. Lesley Khan-Farooqi, along with another colleague, just had an article published in ASHT Times. The article provides the educator, student, and clinical instructor perspective of how to prepare for Level II placements or career in Hand Therapy. Congrats to all!

Board Excellence Awards Finalists Announced!

Thank you to everyone who nominated faculty, support staff, or colleagues for the 2019 Board Excellence Awards.

The passion evident in the quality of the nominations recognizes a stellar group of faculty and staff who are dedicated to our mission and service to our students. This year saw an unprecedented number of nominees – 185 in all, with 119 of those coming from students in our new “Student First” award categories. That is impressive!

The Awards Committee reviewed the nominations to develop the list of finalists presented below. Now the hard part begins for the Board of Directors —making the difficult choices of who will be selected as our 2019 winners and recognized at a celebratory dinner in September.

Thank you, again, for recognizing the outstanding work of faculty, support staff, and colleagues who strive for excellence on behalf of our students and the university.   And congratulations to all our nominees and finalists!

2019 Board of Directors’ Awards Nominees

Student First – Faculty

Lesley Khan-Farooqi, Assistant Professor (Core), MOT, Austin

Patricia Palomar, Instructor (Core), MOT, St. Augustine

Matthew Morretta, Assistant Professor (Core), Flex DPT, Austin

Maureen Johnson, Assistant Professor (Core), MOT, San Marcos

Miguel Garcia, Assistant Professor (Core), DPT, Miami

Suny Faradj-Bakht, Instructor (Core), MOT/OTD, St. Augustine

Jennifer Crowder, Assistant Professor (Core), PPOTD, St. Augustine

Student First – Staff

Frank Bennett, Academic Advisor – Student Services, St. Augustine

Excellence in Teaching

Emily Frank, Instructor (Core), MOT, Austin

Terri Roberts, Asst Program Director, Asst. Professor, MOT, San Marcos

Amy Walters, Asst Professor (Core), DPT, Austin

Excellence in Scholarship

Lori Kupczynski, Professor (Core), EdD, St. Augustine – (Remote in TX)

Iman Akef Khowailed, Assistant Professor (Core), DPT, San Marcos

Megan Flores, Assistant Professor (Core), DPT, Austin


Excellence in Innovation – Faculty

Kelly Layne, Assistant Professor (Core), MOT/OTD, St. Augustine

Norman Belleza, Assistant Professor (Core), DPT, San Marcos

Scott Love & Rick Coleman, Assistant Professor (Core)/Lab Faculty Instructor, DPT, St. Augustine

Michelle Sawtelle, Assistant Professor (Core), DPT, Austin


Excellence in Innovation – Staff

Mechelle Roy, Clinical Simulation Technician, St. Augustine

Patricia Mon, Research Specialist, St. Augustine


One University Collaboration – Staff

Erica Kelly, Financial Aid Systems Analyst, St. Augustine

Dinah Willis, Receptionist, St. Augustine


40th Anniversary Distinguished Alumni

Cindy Chaconas, DPT 2007, St. Augustine

Ryan McCarthy, DPT 2012, San Marcos

Kevin Bruielly, DPT 1996, St. Augustine

Kelly Uanino, MOT 2011, St. Augustine

Take charge of your own life-story

Request Information

More Articles

Upcoming events